Health & Fitness

Link-orama!!

In response to demands by registered followers, today I will be more specific about the foods I’m enjoying, and – if I can figure out how – even include links to favourite recipes.

image
Breakfast
For over 12 months now, I have been making a weekly batch of Sarah Wilson’s grain-free granola – I love this stuff. Sarah suggests adding rice malt syrup if you want to sweeten it, but I never bothered. Pre-Whole30 I ate it with goat yogurt, but now it’s with cashew milk, and I always add berries. Delish!
If I’m not racing to work though – and sometimes when I am – I sit down to a fry-up. Eggs fried in coconut oil are YUMMY, and they regularly enjoy the company of some good bacon, asparagus, avocado and/or spinach. This morning I had a guest for post-training brekky, so I also made Sweet Potato Biscuits (American biscuits, not bikkies). NB: while you’re at the paleOMG site, check out her ‘Treats’, they are the best.
Then every couple of weeks I make Apple pecan & bacon butternut squash hash, and whack a fried egg on top for good measure. I know you’re going to make this for your loved ones within the next 48hrs.

Lunch
Leftover dinner.

Dinner
Although I do work full-time, I have a wacky roster and it’s only ever 3 days between either a morning off or a day off. So I prepare lunches & dinners on non-work days. Sometimes I overdo it, like last week with all that lamb (!), and sometimes I underestimate, or just run out of ideas. Yesterday for lunch I had stir fried fish with capsicum, red cabbage and coconut amino sauce (kind of a soy sauce without the soy) because that was all that was in the fridge! Not a culinary highlight of the week, but it was ok, and the options were starve or eat at the co-worker restaurant – neither is particularly good for your (my) health.
I haven’t had a salad for a while, because all my favourites feature quinoa and/or corn and/or black beans:’Superfood’ Salad, Crunchy Thai Salad, …oh wait, I forgot about the Detox Salad! I love this! Will make it on Monday 🙂 🙂 Happy Happy …doesn’t take much.

Generally though, I like hot meals for both lunch & dinner. Recent winners include: Stir Fried Kelp Noodles with beef, broccoli and spinach, Chicken, Sweet Potato and Coconut Curry, Steak (grass-fed) with Cauliflower Mash and greens.
Soups are good too, especially at the end of a work day. Most soup recipes are naturally paleo, just watch for the dairy. Oh yeah and lentils …and of course no croutons or dumplings. Sigh, nevermind.
On my next day off, in addition to the Detox Salad, I will be making Summer squash meatball casserole because I like it.

Well, that should be enough to go on? Snacks will require their own entry – geez, I could write a book on (ok, mostly nut-based) snacks – and I have some tips on condiments too. Go buy a Vitamix and I’ll meet you back here in a few days.

Standard

One thought on “Link-orama!!

Leave a Reply

