Health & Fitness

Day 7: On Track…mostly

image

My friend John doesn’t really get it. He absolutely believes in the value of whole fresh foods, is genuinely interested in what I’m trying to achieve, and would never dismiss something just because he doesn’t understand, but John scratches his head when I start to talk about eliminating food groups. He tells me that his dad, an Italian fond of dairy and plenty of pasta, is in strapping health and still pretty active. Fair enough.
Sometimes I wonder myself whether I have been conned – the science behind paleo/whole30 makes perfect sense to me, but maybe if I put just as much time and effort into researching some other approach, I would find that equally convincing??
No, even mainstream medicine is starting to see that chronic inflammation is responsible for all kinds of ailments – I reckon it’s only a matter of time before they get around to looking at what causes it.
I tell John that if he is happy with his health, and has the energy to live the life he wants to live, then I’m certainly not going to insist he stops eating his Mama’s cooking. I, on the other hand, want to be the strongest, most healthy, most sparky me that I can be – and I am not that now, so the quest goes on.

Challenges in Week One:
#1 is definitely social events. I may get a cat and just stay at home.
Also, while I have stuck to the list of foods, I haven’t quite mastered the balance – I need to eat more veggies. I used to eat a lot of veggies (last week!), not sure why all of a sudden I feel like I need to fill up on meat?
And less nuts. Nuts are awesome. Every yummy thing I can think of has nuts – and/or dried fruit. I had a dried blueberry blowout on Saturday afternoon, which I know was a serious sugar craving due to not having eaten enough good carbs at lunchtime.

So further tweaking (not twerking) is required, but overall I am enjoying following the whole30 guidelines. I am, however, jealous of friends who say that by day 7 they felt completely new & cleansed. I don’t feel that way – still struggling in the morning and crashing in the afternoon. But I know I’m trying to fix more than my diet, so it will likely be more of an endurance event that a sprint.

Have a happy Monday 🙂

Standard

4 thoughts on “Day 7: On Track…mostly

  1. Zoe says:

    Hi Kelly. Loving your blog! Have just started husband on a similar path for health reasons (although probably not quite as strict as you). I look forward to reading more as you progress. Keep up the good work. Zoe

Leave a Reply

