Health & Fitness

Day 1: Kind of Scary

Image

I did begin the day a little scared… What if I don’t have the willpower to do this? How do I make a yummy brekky without even goat yogurt? Will my coach think I’m lazy, or just sucked in by the hippy naturopath, when I tell him I’m not going to do conditioning work for a month?
Even at this stage I didn’t doubt that my plan would work if I could commit to it, but seriously, no quinoa? Isn’t that a bit extreme? And do I have good enough diplomacy skills to keep my family & friend relationships intact without succumbing to their pho, champagne, lentils and cake (…separate September events)?

So off I went to crossfit at 9.30, and arrived just in time to hear the coach telling the 8.30 guys that getting through a tough AMRAP is a mental challenge that must be conquered – every one of them was flat on their back making sweaty impressions on the floor – and that crossfit is as much about these moments as it is about how much you can lift. Hmmm… deep breath… “Um, so I’m thinking I would like to not participate in WODs for 4 weeks and focus only on strength”. Waiting… and then, with the coach’s response, my day started to improve: “Ok, I’m only doing strength at the moment too – if I had my way, a couple of days each week would be strength-only for everyone”
Phew!! Breath out.

Things continued to get better after the workout. I read the recipes in the Whole30 book, ordered my own copy from BookDepository, tried a coffee with coconut oil instead of milk and surprisingly found it quite yum, realized that if I’m not running & jumping at the gym, I can eat beforehand (yay) and probably wear just the one sports bra (yay) 🙂

Feeling significantly better about “the plan”, I put on season 6 of Buffy the Vampire Slayer – because it has the musical episode – and started to cook.

One lamb roast with vegies, one large frittata, 6 cutlets and a litre of cashew milk later, I am ready for the week.

PS: cashew milk is tastier than almond milk and much easier to make – no pulp.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Day 1: Kind of Scary

  1. Tanja says:

    Great job Kelly!! Good to see you liked the coconut oil in your coffee, not just me putting “strange things” in mine 🙂 Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

